Skip to content

The Shoes?

July 19, 2013
anelephantcant

Copyright: anelephantcant

He looked so casual and calm with his foot up on the stool seat. She hated him for that just as she did for the bicycle pants he wore even when he wasn’t riding his racing bike. She hated that he seemed indifferent to being dumped just an hour ago. Was that a woman? She looked harder, trying to see the person next to him without being seen. They looked like men’s legs but one just can’t be sure these days. The shoes, however, were tragic. She spun around and left, satisfied the shoes would again be his relationship downfall.

100 words written for Friday Fictioneers flash fiction.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2013 1:08 pm

    You can tell so much by the shoes.

    • July 19, 2013 1:11 pm

      I forgot to tell you my daughter’s name is Meredith. But not from naming after the television show Meredith from Grey’s Anatomy.

      • July 19, 2013 2:57 pm

        Indeed you can tell so much by the shoes! 🙂 Thanks for sharing that about your daughter. I am not named for her either (haha) or Meredith Baxter Birney or even obliquely for Don Meredith though I was often called “Don” when I played intramural football in college! Thanks for visiting.

  2. July 19, 2013 4:34 pm

    I think I’ll have to study shoes a bit more. I didn’t realize you could tell so much from them. 🙂 I’m not sure if you want “nonplussed” as I thought from the way you set him up that he’d wouldn’t be confused or perplexed by being dumped. It seems as though he wouldn’t care.

    janet

    • July 19, 2013 9:33 pm

      Janet, thank you for that tip. You were right. I did not want that word. I’m not sure I can tell so much from shoes but she surely can! or thinks she can! LOL

  3. July 19, 2013 11:37 pm

    Comprehensive take on the prompt! Well done.

  4. July 20, 2013 6:07 am

    Dear Meredith,

    I’m a bit of shoeholic myself. My favorites are a pair of purple chucks with hot pink laces. Great conversation starters. 😉

    In any case, this biker isn’t going to win any brownie points with his shoes, is he?

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • July 20, 2013 1:04 pm

      Hi Rochelle,
      Love those shoes you have! I am a nonshoe wearer if possible and the last one to consult on shoes! 🙂 I think that’s what made this fun for me. No, the biker isn’t going to win brownie points on shoes or his lack of appreciation for good shoes, as the case may be.

  5. July 28, 2013 10:49 am

    Good story! I like being barefoot 🙂

Leave a comment