Skip to content

Seeking

February 5, 2014

Once truth in desire, always truth in desire?

Though I pore hard and poke through the ashes

I find no tools to show me my way

I fright at the loss of what has been known

And of dropping into a morass of new bones.

Those bones they are sharp, they are old and not new,

Those bones are many and keep me up long at night.

I dare not prod nor poke these bones, for surely a poke will be returned.

My wanderings leave me stranded with clueless eyes and unforgiving thoughts,

Heart hardened for protection against internal workings.

Uncertainty is no comfort for change

Tears no relief from misunderstood pain

‘Twas once a thought inside my head, “this heart wants love before it is dead”

Where goes that thought now?

Where treads that heart now?

Or is it lost among the trampled?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2014 11:54 am

    This one is interesting. I had to read it a few times. I wasn’t sure I liked it at first due to the phrasings but I really do like it. The phrasing and pacing throw me off balance and make me focus more on the words.

    • February 5, 2014 2:16 pm

      John, Thank you so much for your comment. When I first wrote it, I wasn’t sure I liked it and thought I’d take days to revise. But upon reading it over a bit, I realized the phrasing and structure really captured my feelings, how my internal world was spinning so foreignly. I’m glad you eventually liked it! That means a lot!

Leave a Reply

