Skip to content

Inner Workings of the Brain

March 7, 2013

Trifecta week 67, word: Juggle, words 33-333

Fssshhht, slide, flick, vwomp. Wop wop wop wop. “Watch out it’s coming from above. Make room, make room!”

Rizzzzzzz. “The hole’s ready, lower the bay.”

Kaaaaapoooom. Whish, krrrrr, snap. “Ok. I think that’s everything. Stay on the ready, cadet. We ain’t done yet. Make sure the sign is still in place.”

Over glazed eyes, a sign hung from the lashes facing the eyeballs stating, “Juggle in progress.”

The brain was able to work on one task at hand during the juggle process; this particular specimen was reading something.

“Boss, boss!” the cadet came screaming. “There’s a critical injection. It looks like it will upset the perfect lineup. What shall we do? Oh what shall we do?”

Boss laid a calm hand on her cadet’s shoulder. “You’ve never engaged in the juggle protocol before, have you?”

“No Ma’am, I haven’t.”

“Well, just follow my lead, but it’s best to keep your cool. We don’t want to drop anything.”

“Yes Ma’am.”

“Ok, what’s the injection?”

“FB message about brother. I think we might have to let that ball fly. It’s pretty intense. Could take a bit of time.”

“Let me look a minute. Make breakfast, feed dog, rabbit, send cats out. Check email, eat breakfast, take kids to school (that one takes a while. Must be a special occasion. They usually take the bus these days). Still somewhat normal. Get gas, answer emails, see critical FB message about brother. Hmmm. What else is on today’s plate? Critically edit content and language on short paper, therapy, more editing, begin new project, physical therapy…Hey where did this one come from? Did you see this come in?”

Cadet: “That looks like the helicopter load.”

“Oh, must have been a recent addition. Ok. Physical therapy, possibly pick up kids, more work, make dinner, go to Davis (really long one), home, bed. Whew. Sometimes we just have to let things float and a space will open up. We’ll let the FB message float for now. Watch and learn, cadet.”

 

Your Brain Often Battles Itself from greglefever.blogspot.com

332 words

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 6:41 pm

    IGNORE INCOMING FB MESSAGE. 🙂 Or at least put it off until there’s something you want to do even less than deal with that thing. Or is this just how I manage my family?? Great response to the prompt. Thanks for linking up.

    • March 7, 2013 9:11 pm

      I love your response! I love that I found you…through H.L. Pauff.

  2. March 7, 2013 7:00 pm

    Funny glimpse inside our brains. It’s a wonder we ever get anything accomplished with all that stuff going on!

  3. Draug419 permalink
    March 7, 2013 8:11 pm

    My brain is nowhere near as controlled as yours lol (:

    • March 7, 2013 9:12 pm

      Remember, this is a brain describing itself. Do you think for a minute my brain would disparage itself? Well, it does sometimes but that’s another story. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. March 7, 2013 8:17 pm

    Wow. I guess now I know about Trifecta. I like this a lot. Great “showing.”
    I love all the bumps, both the onomatopoetic words and the “clunks” in the normal word delivery. I feel right there.
    love
    Ela

    • March 7, 2013 9:14 pm

      thanks Ela! You should try it! Nonfiction allowed! As you can see. You’ve given me the greatest compliment “I feel right there.” Awesome. Of course my brain doesn’t feel quite so jilty and bumpy but I did have fun with those words.

  5. March 8, 2013 4:56 am

    Love the sounds at the beginning!! Have to admit my brain got lost in your brain.

  6. March 8, 2013 5:59 am

    What a fascinating take-the mechanisms inside the brain-totally sci-fi!Love the way you showed the workings of the brain & that the Boss is a”she” -yay!

    So many lines stood pout in this cool piece but these ware my favourite-“Over glazed eyes, a sign hung from the lashes facing the eyeballs stating, “Juggle in progress”,”I think we might have to let that ball fly” &”Sometimes we just have to let things float and a space will open up.”

    Welcome to Trifecta Meredith & looking forward to more such fantastic pieces from you:-)

    • March 8, 2013 7:16 am

      Thank you very much! Thank you for the feedback and your impressions. Always a joy.

  7. March 8, 2013 9:12 am

    Love your take. Fine writing as usual!

    • March 8, 2013 9:54 am

      Thanks so much! Love this contest. Glad I picked it up from you.

Leave a Reply

