Skip to content

Whose Lair?

January 30, 2013

Some darkness comes by nature

Some by choice.

My darkness keeps me solitary, my lips seal in response

Darkness proves there’s lightness and offers a place of growth.

When my darkness lifts, and all the stars align,

My drug of choice propels me

Into other people’s lives

More reclusive actions pull me in

Those that stay secret

For me alone to know.

I must avoid the link between

Two souls and what would to be my noose

Were I to act upon the senses

Pelting me with want.

I pour myself into my soul

Lest it let loose in someone else’s lair.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2013 3:27 pm

    You know what I like? Your poem was vivid and fun to read, it held a certain quality that others don’t. I couldn’t put my finger on it until I read the name of your blog. Gurgling Thoughts, a perfect description of what I just experienced. Thank you!

    • January 30, 2013 4:06 pm

      Thank you very much for your response. I’m glad I’m staying true to my blog title!

  2. February 6, 2013 11:26 pm

    Whose lair–is right. And of course, there can be a shared lair… I love the inside-out metaphors here. So many forces in motion, so having the animal image of a lair and the astrological symbol of stars in alignment seems like an appropriate micro- to macro-.
    Sending you love,
    Ela

  3. February 19, 2013 7:50 pm

    First time I’ve had a chance to read your blog. I love the poem. It resonates deeply with me.

    • February 20, 2013 9:26 am

      Thank you for visiting and commenting. I’m glad you found something you can connect with.

Leave a Reply

