Skip to content

By Nature

September 22, 2012

The door slams, pinching a piece of my stomach

The stomach underneath, the one trying to hide

Uncomfortable yet familiar

Something I can deal with

Hold the pain in my chest until it hardens

Making me strong

Making me invisible by choice

Making me alone

By nature.

We are social beings

We are alone

By nature.

Nature suits me and wears me like a banner

Spelling out requirements for life

While I eschew them.

Alone, I am strengthened

Alone, I face strife

Alone, the fire burns as nothing but oxygen surrounds me.

Freedom comes from alone

By nature

I am not free.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2012 8:44 pm

    I am very familiar with “invisible by choice “. I get this one. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

