Skip to content

Secrets

September 15, 2012

Lay your dreams out on the table, honey

The soul pimp says in a whisper

She’ll decode their symbols, tell my secrets

As if she’s spilling gold at my feet.

My secrets

Are my secrets

They’ve been here all along.

She throws the cards down knowingly

A sneering smile creeps in.

I feel like burnt tendrils

Waving in the wind, a choking wind

Me, unable to be rejuvenated

Can she do that, raise me from the dead?

Me, relegated to being crispy, pokey, sharp

For the rest of my life.

She turns the cards, speaking of secrets

Not mine, someone else’s

The secrets of someone living, not crispy

Not me.

It’s in the cards.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2012 10:02 am

    “The soul pimp says in a whisper” and “Me, relegated to being crispy, pokey, sharp

    For the rest of my life.” Outstanding.

  2. September 16, 2012 10:25 am

    🙂 Thank you. I appreciate your presence.

Leave a Reply

