Skip to content

Phoenix Does a Double Take

September 7, 2012

Tears stirring in my chest

Pressing the walls of my ribs

And tainting my day.

Remnants of yesterday turned into the ropes of today

Binding

Restricting

Tightening

Confining everything, arrested from releasing and dirtying the world outside my

Guts.

Constrained

Straining against the bowl of tears

Searching for openings, freedom to touch the tears

To breathe.

The song speaks but does not soothe the pain within

The length of its stay as unknown as a gypsy’s

Its magic nothing the same.

Oh, to be a phoenix stuck in flames

Only to rise no more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2012 8:54 pm

    Nice imagery. I especially liked the line :The length of its stay as unknown as a gypsy’s”.

    • September 7, 2012 8:56 pm

      I was actually surprised when that came out. Thank you for coming by and commenting. I appreciate it. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  2. September 7, 2012 10:07 pm

    Ha, I liked the last five lines the best too, especially that line. More important, I could really feel myself in the emotion of the poem.
    love
    Ela

Leave a Reply

