Skip to content

The Muse at Work

May 26, 2012

I promised, I provide.

I am not completely happy with the glaze jobs on these two babies, and perhaps I will reglaze them. But seeing as how my artistic time is more limited now, I am leaving them as is. Perhaps they will grow on me.

Both pieces were inspired by ocean rocks as many of my recent creations are. I love those rocks, you know the ones with the holes impeccably smoothed by the water and sand. The holes unevenly created by uneven motion, bigger at one side, able to distort your vision.

Neither were inspired by a particular rock like the earlier one, just the concept. I decided to let the clay direct me within the inspiration. I wanted the first to be tall and thin with no holes; I also like the slides created in the rocks as the hole is being worn.

  Somehow it became more organismic and lively.

The final pic shows the slides.

The second one was inspired by one hole. I wanted to give it more substance as all ocean rocks are not thin.

But the holes in this one are important. I had to rip the one on the right out once and it took me a while to get the nuance right.

 

This one also transformed from a basic rock to something else, quite surprising me.

The glazes came out a bit shiny for me as well as too thin. But using thicker glaze would have created more shine so it was an experiment to see how far I could go. I think I’ll try some oxides or stains next time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2012 8:35 pm

    Thanks for letting me know this was up–and now I’m following this one too, so I’ll be in the loop. OK, I’ll be in the loop when I get back/outpatient at least!

    You know I adore the hole rocks too. I love these sculptures–they are so fluid and dynamic! Good photos, too. I love how the sculptures evoke both rocks and ocean.

    love
    Ela

    • May 26, 2012 9:53 pm

      You’re welcome. Thanks for popping by. I remember you adore those rocks. Thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

