Skip to content

Double-edged Sword

October 27, 2011

I had no mirrors

They weren’t around

To tell me what it was.

They disappeared.

You’ll be taken care of, they said

Food, clothing, shelter

Not in short supply.

I had no mirrors

To drown my vision

Of what I knew it had to be

Thought it was

Felt it might be.

Could I be wrong?

Without the mirrors?

I had no mirrors

And still I made it.

They disappeared, no sounds left to say,

These are what we know to be true…

That alone was mine.

I had no mirrors

Where had they gone

While I felt my way

Fumbled through

Stumbled down the darkest hall?

They walked away.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

