Skip to content

Inspiration

November 14, 2011
tags: , ,

I had taken a rather long hiatus from sculpting. When I recently returned, it was only to clean up the studio and glaze the multitude of years-old unglazed pieces lying around. It’s not like me to do one thing at a time (i.e., take care of all those old and forgotten pieces I wasn’t even sure I would glaze). So I started a piece I’d been wanting to do for years.

Whenever I go to the ocean, I collect a few treasures. I like the rocks with the holes in them. All the holes are different. Some go all the way through, some don’t. It’s amazing how many ways there are to construct a hole. I am inspired by the rocks. I finally made one and glazed it. I hope you enjoy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 8:42 pm

    glorious… simply glorious. Hoping it is what you were seeing.

  2. November 15, 2011 6:55 am

    Thank you, Peggy. The seeing beforehand is always ambiguous for me. It came out in a way I don’t think I could have planned, really. As will happen. I really like it. Gail still likes the other one better (which I forgot to show you). I’ve already started another.

Trackbacks

  1. Art and the Muse « gurglingthoughts
  2. The Muse at Work « gurglingthoughts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 996 other followers

